Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a language, especially a foreign language is a hard and long-term process. Some people would argue that learning a non-native language at primary school is better than learning it at secondary school. In my opinion, introducing a second language to primary school children has both upsides and downsides, but the benefits outweigh the drawbacks a bit. There are some advantages to learning a foreign language at primary school. It is clear that learning a second language is easier at an early age. Researches show that children learn languages faster and easier because they have more time to learn, less to learn, fewer inhibitions, and a brain designed for language learning. Moreover, learning languages is one way to help the parents to expand their children's interests, the same as studying piano or swimming. In fact, when your child has the opportunity to try different subjects, they would have more chances to find their strengths. As a result, strengths found at an early age could help children to be more successful when they grow up. In contrast, it could be problems if we introduce a second language to children at primary school. Firstly, the native language is used to learn other subjects and primary school is where children need to focus on their mother tongue, trying to learn more than one language at a time can make it difficult for children to study other important fundamental subjects such as math or science. Their brain could be confused by having to learn more than one language at the moment as other subjects. Consequently, children's ability to absorb subjects will be reduced. Secondly, learning too much at an early age could put lots of stress and pressure on our children. They have to receive and process too much information when they need time to acquaint with the world. For example, in VietNam, statistics show that 60% of children had mental and behavioural problems after being forced by parents to learn many subjects. However, I think those problems could be prevented with some adjustments. To sum up, although some people are against teaching foreign languages to primary school children, I believe that it is beneficial for young children as it improves their abilities and language skills.