Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In recent years, animals are being used as experimental subjects in medical industries as they are considered safer than a human subject. While some argue that such practice should be banned due to the consequences faced by those poor creatures, others support it owning to the benefits of it on human-race. In my opinion, these type of tests are justified; however, it should not be intentionally harmful. To begin with, some hold that using the animals for experimentation should be banned because they also feel pain and suffer its effects, which is unethical and not justified. To illustrate, if we use an animal to test medicine or a vaccine, it is possible that it may suffer from some disease and loses his life at the end. Certain risks are inhuman and should not be allowed as hurting a living being can never be justified on humanitarian bases. Hence, a proper ban must be imposed on these tests. On the other hand, people say that these experiments are for the benefit of our own and nothing could be more justified than saving thousands of lives from that very medicine. For instance, the cancer cure would never be created if the testing facilities would not have that specific rat breed, which is close to human anatomy, to experiment on. As a result of it, we are able to save millions of lives each year and these kind of tests were not possible to be done on human as it might put their lives in danger. Thus, the reason for allowing these experiments is valid and authenticated. In conclusion, nowadays, a common trend to analysis medicine is to use animals which are close to human anatomy to verify its feasibility and find the side-effects before applying it on humans. However, some consider it unethical as the poor creatures have to suffer and others support it due to its benefits on us. I personally believe that it is safer to test on animals than on people but the animals should not be harmed just for the sake of science until justified.