Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people might argue that social networking sites have a positive impact on both individuals and society, while others not. I personally believe that these sites have a huge negative impact on society and individuals for several reasons. Firstly, I don't use the social network for 5 years, because I don't want that people can watch my profile and look at photos that I've posted online. I prefer to have real social contact with someone and have a talk instead of chatting online with the aid of social networking sites. For example, when I was still going to school I used intensively the social networks to communicate and chat with others, and in about 3 years I end up with just no physical friends in real life. Furthermore, recent studies suggest that children and young people tend to use social network always more, with an average of 5 hours for a day. It's a huge amount of time and doing this way children could lose their ability to interact with the real world and real people and could end up with mental issues or another type of psyco illness. Moreover, children could use that amount of time in a better way, such as, playing outside or studying with a group of friends. In conclusion, there is no doubt that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on society and on individuals. A solution could be trying to establish rules for young people about the usage of these sites, a practical way would be to teach how to social networking directly in schools.