Some people believe that if people are allowed to buy guns, they will be able to protect themselves and the crime rate can be lower. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that permission to own guns would ensure the safety of individuals, and eventually, it would reduce the crime rate. However, I disagree that gun ownership is an effective solution to lower the number of crimes. This essay will discuss the drawbacks of gun ownership and the other potential solutions to lower the crime rate and increase the safety of people. Firstly, people can misuse guns in a number of ways. They can intentionally shoot others when they have issues with them and for robbery. It results in the killing of innocents such as children, women and the elderly, depending on the place where the gunfire takes place. The mental status of a person may change over the course of their life. Mentally ill patients can kill others without knowing the consequences of it. A prime example of this is, recently in NovaScotia, Canada, a dentist who had some mental health issues performed a gun shooting at a grocery store and killed two civilians. Secondly, there are so many other potential solutions, including stricter punishments, prisoning and increasing fines can be implemented to decrease the crime rate. These hard punishments would discourage people from getting involved in illegal activities. In addition, advanced monitoring systems such as CCTV cameras can be installed at schools, airports and hospitals to catch criminals. People would hesitate to engage in crimes, if they are aware that they are being monitored. For example, a recent report mentioned that the installation of home security systems significantly reduced car theft in Ontario province. In summary, I do not believe that allowing people to own guns is the best solution to control crimes as there are other important solutions such as heavy punishments and effective monitoring systems that can be implemented to deter crime rates and enhance the safety of the general public.