In some countries, young people are encouraged to travel or work for a year between finishing high school and before starting university studies, discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people who decide to do this

Nowadays, the trend of taking a break after high school is increasing among youth. While some people think that travelling or working during this period is advantages for young people, others argue that it’s not a good idea because of its drawbacks. This essay will discuss both views. In the one hand, taking a short pause before joining the university has many benefits whatever this time is spend either in working or travelling. The main advantage is the great and unique experience that youths will get. In other meaning, the first job helps them to learn about the foretaste of professional life and responsibility. Besides travelling is a great opportunity to meet different mindsets, which can help them to make their own decision concerning their career line. For example, a recent study realized by California academy has shown that students’ results who join directly universities after high school are low comparing to those who take a short break. However, stopping studies for a period especially at this stage of age has many disadvantages, the most important one is that after tasting their freedom and money, many youths change their mind about studies. To elaborate it, teenagers are not mature enough to understand the importance of studying and being graduate, so they think that university is waste of time, adding to that many adolescents by their lack of experience, are often faced to harassment by their colleagues or employers. For instance, a recent survey made by the USA Human Right Association has displayed that more than 70% of harassments at work concerns youths between 16 and 19 years. To conclude, even though working and travelling is beneficial for youths before joining the university, as it initiates them to the real-life moreover, it helps them to grow as a person by strengthening their personality, therefore, a good thing for their future, but it has also many drawbacks like the abandon of high studies and the problems they can meet at work or during a journey, thus, it can impact negatively whole their life.