Some people think that family members are more important than friends, what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that blood relationship is more valuable than peer groups. I completely disagree with this view, as I think that friends are better than family members in many ways. Friends stay with us throughout the thick and thin in our life. This is because they care for us and give immense importance to the bonding that has been developed, unlike family members, who often break the entire relationship by becoming greedy about materialistic things. To illustrate, Many children in the orphanage do not miss their parents or siblings as they provide the utmost care and love to each other. It is, therefore, apparent that had there not been friends, many lives would have shattered. Furthermore, friendship does not change over time rather it becomes stronger. The prime reason being they have a high level of understanding with each other and no matter how long they have not spoken together due to their busy life, the affection between them remains intact and it grows deeper as time passes as they would have faced many challenges together. For example, Most of the people irrespective to how old they are, they anxiously wait for alumni get together so that they can meet their old friends, for this, they even fly across the world to catch up for the event. Thus, relationship with friends is eternal. To conclude, certain people think that family members are more imperative than friends. However, I totally disagree with this notion and feel that friends not only stay with us throughout our lives but also show overwhelming affection without any selfishness.