Many people believe that social networking sites such as (facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

At present, many people are concerned about the utilization of social networking sites as they think it brings disadvantages for the users as well as the community. In my opinion, though to some extent such media is harmful, it brings significant advantages if employed carefully. On the one hand, dependency on online platform promotes depression among the users and makes them less skilful. Especially, teenagers and young people are very much acquainted with Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram to make friends, upload pictures, or share their ideas or thoughts. In many cases, they get viral for scandals or become the victim of cyberbullying, which create psychological pressure on them and let them frustration. Moreover, some individuals become addicted to these sites and spend hours after hours in front of the screen. Consequently, they give little time to study and work which in turn affects their result and career progress. Thus, the netizens suffer tremendously, and later the country is also going to have an inefficient future generation. For example, a survey conducted by Wikipedia stated that many adolescents feel inferiority complex while their post is less liked or commented. However, using online platforms allows individuals to have strong human bonding. Unlike past, it is more convenient, time and cost-effective to contact and maintain the relationship with family, friends, and surroundings, because anyone can chat, make VoIP calls or pass comments through these websites regardless of geographical locations. Besides, they can easily get updates of their surroundings from the archives or daily activities. Furthermore, people can find-out lost persons in their life, who really mean to them, through these webpages. Accordingly, using social media is strengthening human inter-connection. For instance, I have been more attached to my childhood friends since I add them to my Facebook friend list. In conclusion, people have contrasting views whether getting familiar with social networking sites is advantageous or not. While some opine that it serves anxiety to the users and drives them for being incompetent for the community, It enhances the unity of the human relation. Nevertheless, the benefits of such technology could be enjoyed fully if we employed that properly.