Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this statement?

In some developed countries, there is a trend of costless healthcare benefits, regardless of the person’s income. I believe that there are some cases where this free medical care facility is disadvantageous to the general public, however, in other aspects it is quite acceptable. Firstly, I will explain how it has negative effects on society, and secondly, the positive side of this scheme will be examined. On one hand, this policy of free health services creates a negative stigma in society, as well as, increases the cost of living. To further explain, not charging for the medical treatments has a wrong impact on the public as they least bother about their well-being. Also, funds allocated to the healthcare system by the administration is a part of the money paid by tax-payers towards the government, and this puts the burden on the mass. For example, as dental care is free in our country, fewer people are interested in maintaining dental health to avoid consulting dentists. On the other hand, there are various viral diseases which are inevitable despite being health conscious, and in that scenario, a person should enjoy the benefits of these schemes. In addition, people are not reluctant in getting medical attention if provided free, and this helps in alleviating the spread of communicable illnesses. For instance, coronavirus started engulfing the whole world, and due to the free medical facilities provided by the nation, people cooperated with governing bodies to control it. To conclude, free medical attention brings the carelessness in the society, moreover, it leads to the rising expenditures. In contrast, this policy has a strong advantage of letting people come Infront to restrict the spread of some viral sicknesses.