In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many nations around the world, locals from rural areas are moving to urban areas, therefore, the number of inhabitants in the countryside is going down. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, there are some good aspects when rural people settle down in centre. Firstly, more job opportunities are offered. Cities often have many factories and firms, therefore, sources of income will be provided for rural inhabitants. Secondly, many people move to cities to experience plenty of better health, education or entertainment services which don't grow well in the countryside. Moreover, living in a city helps them develop themselves better, it also brings many chances to learn and expand relationships. Additionally, when residents from many regions settle down in urban areas together, cultural diversity will be promoted which creates a diverse living environment. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks. Firstly, migrations can lead to a population fall in rural areas and local cultures will gradually disappear. Furthermore, when people move to downtown too much, cities will face infrastructure overload, and traffic jams due to the growth in residents. Another serious issue is that overpopulation will lead to environmental problems and the lack of green spaces. Lastly, because of the population rise, crime rates will also go up and other social problems such as homelessness and violence will appear. In conclusion, moving to cites has both good and bad aspects. Many people want to settle down in the city to develop themselves and their careers, while others want to live in the countryside, as a consequence, this depends on each individual.