In many parts of the world, people now often throw things away when they are broken and buy new ones, whereas in the past broken things were repaired and used again. Why do you think this is the case? What problems may it lead to?

It is becoming quite common around the globe that people are buying new things and getting rid of old products by throwing away as compared to earlier where people reused the things after getting it repaired when being smashed. This essay will provide the reasons for this happening and also highlight the concerns which are rising. To begin with, people are purchasing new things rather than getting it fixed due to easy convenience. In other words, people nowadays have a hectic schedule and do not have enough time to for themselves, so in spite of repairing the broken things, they prefer to buy new products which save time and also repairing costs more than buying new ones. Secondly, people are getting attracted, to advertisements due to massive consumerism of the product. Furthermore, with the globalization people desire to have updated things and as a result,old things are being thrown away or replaced. For example, a survey conducted by the University of Oxford found that 70% of people choosing new things over old ones after getting damaged as it saves time and feels to upgrade. Despite the benefits, it also has negative consequences on the environment, in order to fulfil the demands of people, companies are exploiting natural resources. Deforestation, de-vegetation and lagging are prevalent in many societies. Moreover, people are producing more rubbish by discarding traditional items and adopting products of presents-days. To sum up, it is seen that people today are more advanced and wish to have new equipment and products by throwing old ones which are detrimental to the environment and raising many concerns. Therefore, government and locals should be responsible to create awareness to start implementing three R's in life which are reduced, reuse and recycle the things which will be helpful to all living beings.