Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that countries which extend working hours above the average limit are more achieving than nations which work fewer hours. This essay disagrees that prolonged working hours is useful, as this would affect the employees’ health and adversely affect the economy. This essay will discuss the health risks imposed by extra working hours, followed by economic effects. Extending official working hours can be unhealthy for the workforce. This is because many employees suffer from stress due to the continuous pressure that they face at work. This may result in stress-related disorders such as fatigue and anxiety. Moreover, these staffers may not find enough time to spend with their families. Accordingly, this may give rise to arguments among family members.. As a result, this would reduce the employees’ productivity, as they would be demotivated and tired to do any effort. For example, the economic inflation in Egypt has forced many individuals to work for too long and take at two jobs at the same time. As a consequence, many of them are dealing with many health problems. Another point is that when several labourers struggle with mental health issues, they indirectly affect the economy. This reason is many employees would need the appropriate medical care to cure the illnesses that had resulted from stressful working conditions. This may result in companies spending so much money to cover their medical expenses. Therefore, the economy will be negatively impacted. For instance, in Japan, many workers suffer from depression due to the stressful work environment, costing the government around 1 million yen to offer medical attention to them. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that working for long hours leads to economic growth. This is because health -related problems reduce the efficiency of so many workers, which in turn affects the economic status of countries which obligates their labourers to work for long periods.