Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of technological gadgets at the moment, such as security cameras, are being used for surveilling people’s activities, including the ones they do not consent to. On one side, the use of this technology can provide better safety. On the other side, if not handled correctly, it can violate other individual’s privacy. I personally agree with the first statement because keeping our lives and properties safe is a priority for most people, despite its consequences. With more gadgets monitoring the surrounding conditions, it will provide better security for the population. Criminal acts will be diminished because there will be no room for the criminal, who is being watched by many eyes, to escape. For example, one of Indonesia’s most controversial crimes was the murder of Mirna with cyanide added to her coffee. Evidence from the CCTV was one of the most reliable sources of information that is used in the court and has proven to be very beneficial. On the contrary, the use of monitoring gadgets may result in less privacy. It is very dangerous to have our data or identification inside it, especially without consent, due to the possibility that it is not used for noble purposes. For instance, there was shocking news lately in Indonesia regarding some of the low-rated hotels that secretly installed security cameras in hidden places to sneak on the guests. They would share the recorded private footage of the guests, for instance when they are taking a shower, and gain some profit from selling it. In conclusion, even though the use of surveillance technologies may violate a person’s privacy, if operated wisely, it can still benefit us by creating a safer environment.