The inequality between rich and poor nations is now wider than it has ever been before. What do you think are the main causes of this difference and what do you think can be done to reduce the gap? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a noticeable gap between the rich nations and the poor nations and it is getting bigger with each passing day. In my opinion, the governments of the poor nations should be held blamed for this inequality. In most developing countries it has been seen that governments are more concerned about gathering money rather than worrying about the welfare of the country. Even though there is a lot of scope for education in the urban areas yet in the schools or universities the facilities are not good enough to provide a high standard of education. There is no scope for proper higher education. There is an increased rate of unemployment due to the unavailability of jobs. Therefore people, who are qualified enough, simply move to the rich countries to get a proper job or degree. As a result, poor countries lose citizens who have the ability to contribute to the betterment of society. The rich nations get richer and the poor remain poor. With just a little effort, these problems can easily be solved by the government. New laws can be introduced to make it mandatory for every child to obtain a certain level of education. Moreover, the government can even provide education for free for the ones who cannot afford it. The schools and universities must also be forced to maintain a particular standard. If the standard of education is increased, the progress of the nation is bound to occur. If the nation is progressing newer jobs with eventually be introduced as a consequence people will not go to a different country to get employed. Hence the poor countries will not lose valuable assets i.e. manpower. It can be concluded that the governments of the poorer nations are responsible for the increased inequality between the rich and poor nations. However, the solution lies in the hands of the governments.