Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the popularity of being an entrepreneur surpasses the prestige of working for another institution. Personally, I believe that the merits of owning a business outweigh its setbacks. Although establishing an enterprise seems to be more vulnerable in times of crisis, its freedom and social impact will serve as a strong reason why people should be encouraged to be businessmen. To commence with, it is undeniable that shop owners are at risk during hard times. One clear example is the loss which most of the trade owners had to endure during the COVID-19 outbreak, with some enterprises even going bankrupt. When a profit-oriented company suffers from financial loss or even being closed permanently, the main source of income for its founders will be lost. Thus, having to bear the risk of losing ownership of his/her field is one of the main disadvantages of being an entrepreneur. On the other hand, running his/her own corporation will give an individual the freedom to decide on working time and job descriptions. For instance, a lot of small companies are owned by women because they need to fulfil their responsibilities as mothers and business owners, necessitating the flexibility to manage the time they need to spend at work. Unlike a formal job which requires physical attendance from nine to five every day, running their own field is beneficial for people who need to do other things simultaneously. Therefore, the flexibility in earning profit by selling own products or services has proven to be the most attractive feature of entrepreneurship. To conclude, it is believed that a lot of people choose to start their own money-generating activities rather than serving an already established enterprise. I support this trend because of its advantages, one of which is the independence obtained from running own employment, which outweighs the drawbacks such as high vulnerability during a crisis.