In many countries, obesity among children has drastically increased. Parents should be held responsible if their children are obese. What are your views on the subject?

Owing to the abrupt elevation in the overweight problems among the younger generation, many people advocate that parents are accountable for the cause of this health issue in minors with their negligence towards sport and exercise, however, I believe that it is the combined efforts of both parents and the government that can tackle this problem in society. Firstly, parents should take care of their offsprings by monitoring their health status in relation to weight gain, and encourage them to partake in sport and exercise. Without any doubt, elders of the family have a great influence on the minds and lifestyle of the younger ones, and adopting an active lifestyle leads to the fitness of the whole family. For instance, when my elder brother goes to play football early in the morning, my nephew follows him and accompany him daily. Secondly, in this fast-paced corporate culture, there is less or no time for the working parents to cook healthy meals at home, thus opting for ready-made meals becomes a contributing factor for obesity. Nevertheless, heads of the house have to play their role in combating this health pandemics, however, policymakers also need to come with some long-term solutions to alleviate this issue. To further explain, the administration should frame some laws and regulation for the advertisements of fast-food which specifically targets the teenagers, who in fact constitute the bulk of the customers at these establishments. For example, more than half of the seats at Mac Donald's are occupied by the teenagers, despite the food over these place has been proven to be unhealthy. In conclusion, the widespread disease of overweight should be dealt with the combined efforts of both parents at a family level, as well as the health ministry of the nation, to counteract the effect of sedentary lifestyle trending in societies.