Is teaching people over 65 to use computers the best way to spend government money? To what extent do you agree?

It is widely thought that providing free education for using computers for elderly residents is the best way to spend the national budget. However, I strongly disagree with this argument for several reasons. Granted, one might argue that various aspects of one country could benefit from teaching citizens over 65 years old to use computers. This is predicated on the assumption that getting proficiency in computer skills could help seniors to be more self-reliant. This, according to this theory, results in elderly people not depending on their sons, daughters or grandchildren. However, this only works if they need to use computer skills for many complicated purposes, for example in the form of calculating a complex worksheet or designing a movie with a lot of effects. Meanwhile, some elderly people would want to enjoy their time with their friends rather than doing these tasks. Furthermore, they could use smartphones which are simpler to do many tasks such as writing an email, reading the news on the internet or booking an appointment with a doctor. There are convincing reasons to say that governments should not invest in offering free courses to teach seniors to use computers. On the other hand, I believe that governments need to allocate their budget to address such problems being more than important and urgent. Firstly, the national budget should be spent on developing the educational system to cater for children under 18 years old. Once one child is equipped with good skills and knowledge, he or she could contribute to the development of different aspects. Therefore, governments would not need to offer free computer lessons when they would be elderly people in the future. Secondly, governments could invest a huge amount in tackling environmental issues as they would have more effect on a lot of people. There are compelling pieces of evidence to say that governments have many emergency tasks rather than spending their attention as well as budget on teaching seniors to use computers. In conclusion, I firmly believe that teaching people who are over 65 years old to use computers is not the best way to allocate the national budget because they might not need this skill to serve their lives better whereas governments have such urgent problems which must be addressed as soon as possible.