Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays more and more people tend to use a plastic shopping bag as they are very practical and useful, by doing this they are causing many environmental problems. Some people argue that they should be banned. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, plastic shopping bags are the major cause of pollution for our environment, as they are manufactured using fossil fuel. Moreover, molded bags take nearly 10 years in order to be absorbed back in the ecosystem. Furthermore, this kind of plastic is subjected to slow deteriorating so microparticles of plastic will remain suspended thought the water causing problems to the food chain. In addition, molded bags could reach and pollute our oceans. To cite an example, recent studies show that almost 60% of the total plastic that is fluctuating in our oceans is composed of molded bags. Secondly, governments should act and take measures in order to tackle this problem. One of the solutions could be imposed on customers to bring their own basket in order to do shopping. Another way to solve this issue could be reached by banning disposable shopping bag and permit customers to buy paper or tissue bags. For example, The European Union will ban disposable plastic shopping bags in 2025 in order to reduce pollution in our oceans. To conclude, I strongly believe that governments should take stronger measures and actions in order to avoid this situation. Moreover,we should develop and study new alternative methods more ecological friendly that can improve our lifestyle and at the same time protect our environment.