In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Travelling and working for one whole year after finishing high school is highly encouraged in a few countries for teenagers who are about to join in a college. The major advantage of following this is the chance to explore and understand more about different lands and cultures. However, the disadvantage is it will keep those young people at high risk of addiction to bad habits because of uninterrupted freedom and spoilt company. On the one hand, considering to take a break and travelling to a new place will help explore the new dimensions of real-life and working for a living will teach these teens about basic responsibilities. Moreover, a chance to meet new people from different countries throughout the world is a great opportunity to understand their culture. For instance, the work and social ethics of teenagers from the USA are highly appreciated around the world due to their confidence level and knowledge of different customs. Hence, encouraging to explore will help them analyse and acknowledge the effort. On the other hand, The probability of drug and other unnecessary addictions is consequently high when these youngsters are left free with no proper guidance in a new place. Their decision making is could be clouded at times, as they are vulnerable in nature due to the various physical, mental and biological changes at that age. For example, the rate at which teenagers are caught in drunk and drive raids in Ireland is very high when compared to adults. Thus, it is better when they are under the guidance of their parents rather wander around without restrictions. In conclusion, Although in many countries kids are advised to explore new lands before starting their university education considering the experience they gain through it, but giving them unmanageable freedom could affect them because of the unpleasant company leading to bad habits.