Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and to follow news and events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital age, the development of technology is rapidly increasing. Almost everyone today owns a smartphone, laptop to keep up to date with important information and it leads to more and more social media users. However, I believe that the disadvantages are outweighed by many advantages. To begin with, making contact via social networking sites show certain benefits. First of all, they are powerful tools to accelerate the flow of information. For example, Facebook and Twitter have become so popular that over 3 billion people around the world can be connected with a click of the mouse. Thus, with only a smartphone or a computer connecting the Internet, people could have an appointment like in the real life. Besides, a social network is a powerful tool which can give us the latest information. For instance, breaking news is readily available for free. That is why we are now more aware of what is happening around us and this is because of the existence of social media. Nevertheless, it can be said that people may not be able to show emotion when using social platforms. Although, there are plenty of people who choose to use icons showing their emotion rather than their actual tone of voice. However, not everyone uses such emojis which can lead to words being misconstrued, thus, many relationships might be broken. Secondly, it is possible to develop health problems if a huge amount of time is spent surfing the net. For example, you can get sore eyes from staring at the screen for long hours or backache from bending to read from a device for an extended period of time. In addition, people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. In conclusion, I believe that the pros and cons depend on the level and the way social media is used by individuals. Therefore, it is important to develop a smart, civilized and proper attitude towards using social media.