Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, with the great technological development, children have been spending hours daily on their smartphones. While this trend is clearly a negative development, I believe that using the phone with limitations does no harm but actually has a positive effect on kids. On the one hand, many schools tend to add digital resources such as learning apps and games; this method has proved to enhance the learning experience, enabling youngsters to see the “boring” school curriculums in a fun, vivid way. On the other hand, if we took away these gadgets from young learners, this would clearly affect their performance. Moreover, nowadays, a number of social media platforms, such as TikTok and YouTube, now have strong content restriction policies that are clearly executed, making them suitable for children. For instance, YouTube has introduced a platform merely designed for children that displays only suitable content and channels. On the other hand, while some platforms have content restrictions as mentioned above, overall the internet is a deep, dark place that contains a lot of inappropriate topics, such as porn, mimicry, and a wide range of inappropriate language usage. Furthermore, social media is full of cyber criminals that make use of young boys and girls to gain money or to fulfil a sexual desire. As a result, kids put in such circumstances are likely to get traumatized, developing serious mental conditions such as depression, anxiety, and PTSD. In addition to this, serious health problems are associated with sitting on screens for long periods of time, such as eye problems resulting from continuous exposure to certain rays, which cause eye strain and dryness. In conclusion, while mobile phones clearly have a lot of negative effects on young ones, I believe that these drawbacks can be overcome by the correct settlement of boundaries so these gadgets can positively affect our new generation.