There are different customs in different countries related to how people eat, dress, and so on. Some think that people visiting a country should behave according to customs of the country they visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world has become a big global village, although many countries have their unique ways and customs. Some people opine that whenever a group goes on holiday to vacation in a country, they have to behave in line with the existing customs of the locals. However, in my opinion, it is not a must that tourists follow local customs and this essay will explain detail. Firstly, as we are all aware, every country has its own unique culture and the main reason why people vacation in other countries to experience the unique differences in the places they spend their holiday. For example, if an American visits China, he might be interested in discovering the different cuisines that are available there, especially street food which is very popular in China. Moreover, if a tourist wants to follow local customs, he has to learn them first and a holiday that lasts only a couple of days or weeks will not be enough to learn such. Thus learning basic greetings and manners for knowledge gain is more important. However, tourists have to show respect for local laws and customs when they are visiting a foreign country. For instance, I visited Dubai last year and I went on a tour to the Dubai mosque and had to dress appropriately by wearing covered and decent clothes. Moreover, one of the main reasons people go on holiday is to learn about the places they visit, by interacting with locals, eating their food and learning about how they live. Thus, if tourists show respect for the locals, they will have a much more pleasant vacation and cultural exchange can be easily facilitated. In conclusion, I think people have swapped their culture and customs, which is a good sign of strong bonding between many countries. But if some people have suggestions to behave according to their customs of the places they visit while travelling, I think it is up to each person's decision, as a custom is not the barrier to interaction.