The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undoubted that having a convenient quality of life has always been a crucial purpose for scientific inventors. By favouring this groundbreaking advancement, individuals can benefit from various advantages by related applications. However, it might have a negative influence on our mental health if people excessively rely on it. In this essay, I will elaborate on my perspective with examples below. Nowadays, progressive medication developments can reduce the majority of risk from physical disease effectively. For example, patients can get formal therapy and medical recommendations from doctors due to the popularization of medical improvements. Thus, as long as people follow the instructions from medical employees properly, there is no concern about getting severe physical diseases which will cause death. However, if we use this technological advancement without control, such as mobile phones and social media, it might bring about a negative impact on our mental health. For instance, researchers have proved that the percentage of mental illnesses dramatically skyrockets in a decade, especially in teenagers, due to the overuse of social media platforms. It is quite common for people to reveal their bright sides on social media in order to get attention, however, it will cause a problem with low self-esteem and dissatisfaction by constant comparison. Thus, individuals probably will suffer from mental diseases such as anxiety and depression in the end. In conclusion, although scientific innovations can assist individuals to have better quality of medication indeed, there remains a potential risk of getting mental disorders if we cannot apply them consciously. Only if people strike a harmonious balance between technology and desire, can we dominate our lives instead of being controlled by technology.