Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

Individuals have currently been living more in the last years, especially after retirement. This rise in life expectation also brings some effects to societies. In this essay, I will examine these effects and then present some solutions for them. Firstly, people who live more as a consequence, cause a direct impact in a country public health. It is common that the elderly encounter themselves vulnerable as soon as they retire, which means that they will depend exclusively on the health public system considering that the earnings coming from their retirement avoid them to afford a private health system; thus, the more they live the more they will use the public health system; thereby, causing a collapse into the system. Secondly, their retirement will require an increase in the tax burden to the payers. As the elderly are living more, the state will have to cope with the increasing number of retired by raising the taxes to support it. A perfect way to reduce the impact of this new reality is the leverage the age of retirement. With the increasing of life expectation, people are also expected to work more so as to contribute to the state in order to sustain the system. Therefore, people would get retire later and also improve the life pension for those who are not available to contribute to their workforce anymore. For example, although it is required that a person retire when he reaches 60 years old, the state should increase this number to 70; thus, those who already have 80 years old could be supported for those who still able to work. To conclude, the retirement age has become one of the most important issues that any state have do deal with; however, by imposing the leverage of the age of retirement, which is an unpopular measure, should be enough to solve this problem.