In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Fast food joints have had a massive expansion in recent years and hence, in a few nations, a huge amount of humans have encountered physical fitness issues by consuming more junk items. Should the higher authorities levy more taxes on such types of eating items? This essay disagrees that governments should tax this kind of eatables. Firstly, this essay will discuss how it will impact only a certain income-group and secondly, it will discuss other alternatives to reduce the consumption of such food. To begin with, increasing tariffs will have only a marginal effect on its consumption as those who belong to the upper class will continue eating such edible items. The people who might reduce having such food would be lower and middle-class individuals. For example, a recent survey by J.J University showed high-income groups people been more inclined towards eating junk food. Alternatively, the government should think of creating awareness about the ill-effects of junk food. If people are educated about the harmful effects of consuming this variety of food, there is a bright possibility of them adopting a healthier lifestyle. For instance, many individuals follow what is shown in advertisements and broadcasting videos of fitness problems caused by eating fast food will surely direct them towards a balanced diet. In conclusion, increasing taxes on such eating items will, not give the desired results and will impact on a selected group of individuals. Whereas, raising awareness of health concerns will keep a lasting impression on an individual’s mind.