Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that a large part of sugar consumption that is detrimental to public well-being comes from many processed food products, for which reason their sales should be limited by making the prices rise. To my mind, such an approach to lower public sugar consumption and, with that, attain better health rates is senseless and even adverse, as this may cause quite a contrary effect. Firstly, sugary products eaten in moderation will not produce significant harm to one’s health, but their rising in price will make such foods perceived as something elitist and even more desirable. With such a mindset, people will be eager to savour these attractive, albeit nutritionally unhealthy, products. Thus, they may even redistribute their incomes by spending more on sugary items at the expense of other purchases, as is evidenced by the case of cigarettes, which are always in great demand no matter their price. Secondly, highly processed foods, which are usually the ones to contain a high share of sugar, constitute the main source of nutrition for the poorer layers of society, who will be deprived of it in case the price rises. Those who have a shortage of budget heavily rely on such inexpensive products as instant noodles, for instance, and their higher cost may leave these people on the brink of starvation even. Hence, such a measure may be detrimental. To sum up, sugary foods, albeit unhealthy at some point, are not the stumbling rocks in terms of increasing public health, and the rise of prices on them will not solve the issue causing vice versa effects, with such products being considered more appeasing and with poorer families loosing their main source of nutrition.