Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

It is believed that a fixed punishment for all crimes is a good way to deal with criminals. Advantages such as the speed to process the crimes and the rapid reduction in the cost burglaries, as well as the disadvantages of not all crimes being the same and the number of robberies committed previously will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, the fact of having static consequences for every crime would fasten the legal system as it would be easier to make decisions relating to the consequences of the robberies. Furthermore, the prosecution system becomes faster the quantity of new altercates would be reduced significantly because people would see that no matter what you do you will get a high fixed consequence. For example, since the year 2010 every crime in the EEUU results in 10 years of prison and this has dropped the crimes in over 30%. On the other hand, not all crimes have the same significance as it is not the same to commit a murder as it is to steal someones wealth. In the same way, it is important to take in to account how many times someone has behaved illegally because people who have been prosecuted in advance should get harder punishments in order to change their attitude towards society. For instance, China has a pyramid based legal system the crimes are ordered by severity, also the prison time is increased in 5 years every time a person commits a new crime. To conclude, it is shown that a fixed punishment would increase the speed and decrease the number of robberies, however,it is important to take in to account both the type of crime and the previous crimes committed to judging fairly.