In some nations ,they have the option to import food fr all around the glob. To what extent do you think its benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, some countries are allowed to import food from foreign nations, this measure has positive and negative impacts on the local economy. This essay believes that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, looking into the positive aspects, when a country is allowed to import food, the local market becomes more competitive, therefore, local producers need to drop the prices making it cheaper for consumers. Another advantage is that customers have more options available to buy, therefore, they can choose the type of food they want to consume as their style. On the other side of view, the drawbacks, local producers could transit cost issues as sometimes imported food is cheaper than actually the local costs, reducing the incentives to produce locally. Analyzing the positive aspects, we can notice that open economies around the world are more competitive, as local producers need to compete with international brands for a part of the market. As a result, neither local or international producers can install monopolies, resulting in better prices and conditions for consumers. For example, in Argentina, food importation is not allowed, therefore, local producers can set prices and conditions as they want, making it unfair for consumers. On the other hand, when a economy tends to be more open, consumers have the chance to choose what they want to consume, resulting in more varied diets. For instance, in countries in Europe where importation is allowed, people can choose if they prefer Asian over American food and so. From the other side of view, when a country is too open to importation, there are no incentives to produce locally, because in some cases the imported food is cheaper than local costs, therefore, producers cannot compete. In those cases, the Government should intervene to avoid market issues. For example, there are no incentives to produce soda drinks locally as "Coke" has the entire world market, therefore, nobody can compete with their costs and marketing strategies. In conclusion, this essay believes that the positive aspects (Better prices and conditions for consumers as more varied products) outweigh the drawbacks (International competition). Also, the negative aspect can be solved by the government with intervention.