Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

A common practice that a large number of undergraduates do is taking a year-long break from school, and instead, explore the world or gather some experience by getting a job. I firmly believe that those activities will benefit the students in the near future. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the reason why I support the given topic and provide relevant examples to support the thesis. To commence with, travelling is an opportunity to broaden our minds. By discovering new places and destinations, we become more experienced and even more independent. For instance, in order to go to a distant location, you should at least organise your accommodation and the means of transport you plan to use. Consequently, the individual gains knowledge about different surroundings and cultures. This will contribute to a better understanding of the world. Secondly, work qualification is a significant part of a person's overall skills. When a student starts working, they acknowledge some communication abilities, teach themselves hard work and earn a living, which will help them to pay their tuition. Furthermore, some universities are more likely to accept a student with a sufficient amount of working hours. For example, higher education in the Netherlands highly appreciates an applicant who has the ability to interact successfully with other people and work in a team. To summarise, it is beneficial for an undergraduate to take a gap year, since it has various advantages of doing it. Travelling and having an occupation will serve as priceless wisdom for the future because it will provide you with capabilities, independence and teamwork.