Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's society, several countries have invested a lot to train athletes for some major competitions, such as the Olympic Games and the football World Cup. However, some people hold the belief that this revenue should be used to inspire children to take up sports at a young age. From my perspective, the governments should allocate their funds to both. On one hand, there are some merits to preparing competitors to participate in such major competitions. To begin with, these competitions are able to enhance and showcase the comprehensive abilities of a country since they are generally international and always involve countries from all around the world. Athletes from different countries compete on the same stage. If they are rewarded with a prize, it indicates the country's advantage. Furthermore, it not only plays a vital role in the sports industry but also benefits other aspects. For instance, when the performance of an athlete is outstanding, the audience's interests in the country where the athlete comes from will be triggered. Then, they may take a trip there. As a result, tourism can also be promoted in this way. On the other hand, encouraging children to actively participate in physical activities has a positive and profound influence on a country's development. Firstly, physical activities improve the mental and physical health of children. Meanwhile, children are the next generation to devote themselves to the construction of society. Therefore, only when the children have a well-being health condition, can we have sustainable development. Additionally, enabling children to do some sports from an early age can also be considered as a preparation for major competitions. The reason behind it is that kids who have sports talents are easier to find and develop their potential as soon as possible. Hence, there are multiple advantages to making kids take up sports by spending revenue on it. In conclusion, whether it is spending finances on preparing professional athletes or encouraging children to play sports, there are benefits that we cannot ignore. Accordingly, we cannot simply believe that spending money on one of them would be better.