In many countries there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more time at work and have less time to supervise their children. To what extent do you believe this is true?

In many countries,there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more hours at work and have less time to supervise their children. I strongly agree with this statement for the following reasons. Firstly, nowadays families are different from old-style families, normally people in old traditional families used to live altogether with all the relatives.By doing this, grandparents used to teach and educate children most of the time while parents were working. Although, in the last decade more and more people begun to move to the cities centres where there are smaller houses that didn't allow this situation. To cite an example, when I was a child, I was living in a house with 15 members of my family and I spent most of my free time with my grandparents. But then we moved to a near city and i lived only with my parents. Secondly, due to the modern lifestyle, children tend to grow earlier than before as they have more activities that they could join, such as shopping centres, cinemas and different stores. Moreover, nowadays almost every city is safer than it was before, so children tend to go outside more often compared to old generation children. In addition, in these days, there are a lot of events during the nighttime that is mostly frequented by teenagers. For instance,when I was a child, in my city there was just one cinema and there weren't any other activities than parks or similar. To sum up, It would be advisable that both people and school cooperate in order to tackle this issue. Also by creating dedicated classes that learn civic education to teenagers.