Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism brings more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Many a country, across the globe, attracts tourists to great extent for different reasons. This essay would delve into the pros and cons of this scenario and try to arrive at a rational conclusion. For centuries people from different countries visit other countries for exploring history, culture, entertainment and so on, in turn, it makes many merits to host countries. First and foremost, arguably, tourism is a major source of income for the nation. It plays greater importance in making many impoverished nations to developing countries. In addition, tourism has paved the way not only to learn international languages but to understand cultural differentiation as well, eventually, it would improve the standard of living of the population. For instance, India always encourages providing tourist visa and also ensure the availability of facilities to the tourists. Moreover, tourism drives a vital role in making employment opportunities like tourism guide, small scale business sectors near to the tourist attractions and many more. Nevertheless, although tourism has many advantages drawbacks of the same should not be overlooked. Increasing tourists, undoubtedly, enhance traffic gridlocks and environmental pollution, especially in densely populated cities. Moreover, in the host country citizens have a tendency to emulate other cultures, in turn, they become reluctant towards their own tradition as well as culture. It's very common in most developing countries to follow developed countries. In short, developing economic status of a country,ensuring better life of the nationalities, creating harmony among different countries are the advantages of tourism, whereas imitating other cultures, bad effects to the environment are the disadvantages of the same.