With growing number of populations in cities, many people are living in small homes that don't have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development.

In present times, there is an increase in population within cities, which results in smaller accommodations for people, and the houses are so small that they do not have external spaces. The author of this essay believes that this alteration will have detrimental effects on their behaviour as well as their social relationships. To begin with, it should be acknowledged that houses play a significant role in improving people ’s mood. Since modern life is becoming busier and more stressful, people have a much more desperate desire to feel better when they arrive home. Besides the arrangement of the house internally, the outdoor spaces are also important because this is the place where people can enjoy fresh air, which will eventually pump out bad emotions and negative thoughts. Consequently, people will feel happier and more optimistic about their lives, and this behaviour will provide them with motivation as well as ideas for their work or group projects. To sum up, the house will be very dull and gloomy without outdoor spaces and this will aggravate their mental health and then their physical health. Another point that needs to be considered is that external spaces cannot just possibly bridge the gap between neighbourhoods but also strike new friendships. With outdoor spaces, people can celebrate parties like a BBQ, this is the time when people can put their tasks aside and have enjoyable moments with their neighbours. Furthermore, people usually do not come to a party alone, they will often invite their friends to come. As a result, their neighbours can meet and chat with their friends, which can be classmates or colleagues, and this results in a wider connection between people. To summarize, their life might be isolated without these open spaces and this will trigger depression and lack of social skills, which will transform into major obstacles in their life later on. In conclusion, this writer holds the view that modern houses should have an open space, although it might not be big, but enough to reduce to stifling atmosphere within the house. This essay has enough pieces of evidence to prove the author’s point of view.