Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that schools should offer an opportunity for teenagers to gain work experience. However, others disagree and think that learning a school material is more important. In my opinion, pupils should spend some time working, but their academic results should not be affected. I think, that time spent working helps any future graduate. During shifts teenagers are taught work based skills, such as: time-management, communication, leadership and organizational skills. They gain practical knowledge that helps them in their future careers and makes teenagers more employable. Also, having work experince helps students to choose an appropriate field of career. For example, my good friend thought about becoming a nurse; however, after few shifts in the hospital she realized that this career is not for her. If she had an opportunity to work in the hospital during her school years, she would not waist 2 years of studying in the university. On the other hand, spending time at work makes teens less focused on their academic achievments. Some of them might be fully involved with their career and not focus on studying school subjects. However, it is important to remember that academic lessons are fundamental and it is crucial to graduate high school. For instance, employees who do not have a high school diploma are rarely promoted to a higher position as they are not qualified. Therefore, adolescence should focus on achieving outstanding academic results first, rather than on their career. In conlusion, work experience benefits children in many ways such as developing new skills and helping with a career choice. But, it is more important to focus on school achievments and get a high school diploma.