Full-time university students should spend a lot of time studying, but it is essential to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, college students can join many activities such as sports clubs apart from their academic learning. While some people think those activities are time-consuming, I think it has an irreplaceable role in campus life. Honestly, it is true that the main mission of a full-time university student is to gain knowledge from lecturers. For tertiary education, making academic output is the priority for both tutors and students. Participating in after-school activities could occupy those valuable time which should be spent in the library or the lab. Sometimes it may even affect the GPA of students, eliminating their chance to apply for a higher degree of study. However, involvement in activities such as voluntary services and student union could benefit college students from many aspects. Relating to social skills, students could make friends in other faculties through those activities. It helps them to learn how to build bonds and compromise with people from the various field in the future. More importantly, after-school activities provide a valuable opportunity for students to have practice what they have learned. Through the practice, students may extend their subject knowledge based on their personal experience, which has a positive impact on their career development. For example, those who major in education may have some deep reflections on their understating of teaching after being a voluntary tutor in a school regularly. It could help them to build a more realistic view of their subject. To conclude, I think it is not only essential but also necessary for university students to take part in various activities on campus.