Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion among some individuals that bicycles are an excellent and progressive mode of transport. Meanwhile, their opponents argue that this transport has some drawbacks. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion on the matter. On the one side are those, who believe that a riding bicycle is beneficial for a human being and the society. This is because this type of transport is environmentally friendly and highly effective for a person’s health. For instance, there are no exhaust fumes emissions that have been produced by bicycles, while other means of transportation using gas engines emit pollutants into the environment. In terms of health, riding a bicycle is great for burning off calories and training a person’s heart in order to prevent cardiovascular diseases and maintaining weight. On the other side, there are people who argue that using bicycles on a daily basis by the public is clearly disadvantageous. Firstly, this kind of transport is suitable only for those who already are in good shape and do not have serious issues with health. Otherwise trying to follow an upcoming trend a person might receive more harm than good. Secondly, a bicycle is a very slow type of transportation and it is not practical to use by masses in a modern fast-paced world and long-distance travelling. To illustrate, it is typical for a modern citizen to live in one place and work in the other one. It is not possible to ride a bike from the countryside, for instance, to the city centre on a daily basis. In conclusion, having considered both sides of the argument, I think that both sides have their merits and there is no perfect mode of transport for every living creature. Actually, what kind of transport to prefer is a matter of personal choice and a situation.