In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Although the internet is believed to be one of the most popular sources of information nowadays, it still has some drawbacks in comparison with such traditional source as books are. Nevertheless, I personally consider that the use of the internet provides more benefits than drawbacks, mainly due to its universal accessibility and favor for sustainable growth. To start with, being one of the most advanced technologies, the internet enables people worldwide to get an easy and fast access to the information in our fast changing environment. Hardly any book may be published in such a short period of time, as the same data may be uploaded to the internet. This may be really crucial, for instance, when it comes to the scientific studies in medicine, which may change the way doctors treat some dangerous diseases. Moreover, by means of using the internet as a mean of storing information, people may lower the amount of paper, helping to save the environment and money. As paper production is water and energy-consuming, uploading information to the internet instead of printing the books may contribute a lot to sustainable development. On the other hand, using the internet may still have some drawbacks if arranged unconsciously. First of all, it mainly refers to the young generation, as young people may be easily distracted by the ads and irrelevant information when using digital media. Staring to search some material for their classes on the internet, they may just switch to playing on-line games or chatting with their friends on social media. In addition to indicated above, rarely do people understand that information on the internet may be unreliable or even misleading. Thus, it is really vital to evaluate the source rather than following it blindly. To summarize, I consider that changing the way in which information is stored from books to the internet offers numerous advantages, provided that people use it deliberately.