New stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is opinion about this?

New stories, whether on TV or in newspapers, are often provided with pictures. It is believed that, in terms of efficiency, images are superior to words. I strongly agree with this statement, and the reasons will be outlined. It is my view that pictures can be more effective than words due to several reasons. Firstly, if people see an eye-catching picture in a printed magazine or newspaper, for instance, they are very likely to become interested in reading the content that is written. Secondly, nowadays, having a tight schedule, people find it difficult to dedicate a certain time to keep up with whether reading newspapers or watching TV. Therefore, in my opinion, a graphical abstract provides the opportunity to understand stories by taking a glance without spending too much time understanding the content. In this regard, most scientific journals also encourage researchers to design a graphical abstract for their articles before publishing. In contrast, a group of individuals claims that only a limited number of pictures not only fail to reflect the whole story but also can lead to misunderstanding. In other words, they firmly insist that it is reading or listening word by word to the text or voice that can reflect the story thoroughly. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as advancements in technology, artificial intelligence, for example, make professional picture design possible and effortless. Moreover, numerous details can be included in the images so as to depict details. In conclusion, I completely agree with the fact that pictures can be much more desirable for conveying notions because they are attractive and easy to understand. Furthermore, employing technology can help design ideal images with all their features.