Some people think that preventive measures are the best bet against a pandemic; others however believe that our attention and resources should be diverted to medical interventions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals deem that the best way to cope with a pandemic is to take preventive measures while others argue that more focus and efforts need to be invested in medical treatments. I am more convinced by the idea of taking preventive measures because it is an easier way for the public to implement and a more economical option for the government. Firstly, it does not take much time and energy for the public to do. Precautions are normally simple things that we are capable of. For instance, we were told to stay at home and to wear a mask when we went out while COVID-19 was prevalent. In addition, we can stay away from tropical fever by simply cleaning up our surroundings, as long as mosquitoes have no places to lay eggs, we are safe. Simple precautions not only protect us from contagious diseases but also save others. Secondly, it saves our taxes. When a pandemic rages, the governments have to pay for the vaccines; and if there are no vaccines, more money and time need to be invested into research for a solution. Moreover, relief packages need to be offered by the government due to the recession caused by the pandemic. Nonetheless, if preventive measures had been taken before the pandemic happened, many negative situations could have been avoided. Some people consider that we should put more focus on medical research in case of a pandemic. Nevertheless, we can never know what kind of disease we are dealing with until someone has it. Besides, sometimes people die before a solution is found. So I reckon preventive measures are more practical and necessary. In conclusion, we should always choose a solution that can benefit the majority of us. Simple preventive measures are feasible and cheap for both the poor and the rich. No one in the world wants to be sick, thus, I reckon this is the best method for us to fight against the pandemic.