Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development.

In recent years, there has been a dramatic increase in the usage of technology in our daily lives, especially for communication. This essay will explore how technological advancements have impacted people's relationships and I would argue that there are more drawbacks of this development. Although technology has made communication easy, it has given rise to selfish and non-trusting relationships. This happens due to the lack of real-life interactions that are overshadowed by virtual friendships. For instance, most of the people who engage on social media, boost their number of friends and followers and are often trapped in the vicious circle of attention. As a consequence, the essence of a meaningful relationship is fading away. The contemporary technology has brought in many problems alongside. One of the major drawbacks is the lack of privacy. Most of the social media websites like Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat get access to our personal information which can be easily accessed publicly. Furthermore, there has been a drastic rise in the number of cybercrimes like bullying, fraud and child abuse. For example, the Fox International, a leading newspaper in the world, reported that in the year 2019 there were 4.5 lakh cases of Pedophilia in the United States of America and shockingly 85% of them were involved in cybercrime against children through social media. To conclude, the usage of technology for interaction has produced more selfish and fake relationships. Additionally, it has led to many cyber crimes like child abuse. Therefore, I strongly feel that this is not at all a positive development.