There are many reasons that can motivate a person to stay working for the same company. Some believe that money is the main reason. Do you agree or disagree?

Job motivation has become an increasingly popular area of discussion in the modern world. It is often argued that money is the major motivational factor for employees who decide to remain in a company for a long period of time. This essay will completely disagree that financial gain is not the main factor and state other reasons that can drive employee retention. Firstly, a major reason why employees will be motivated to stay longer in an organisation is passion. A passionate staff tends to be more devoted on his/ her job and will be willing to stay longer than a staff that lacks drive. Passion has always been considered as a very important factor for employee retention. For instance, in a career survey filled by working professionals, 70% indicated that passion is their top reason for staying in their organisation for a long term period. Therefore, it is reasonable to state that passion is a driving factor why a staff may choose to stay in a company for years. Another motivational factor for employees is access to training opportunities. Companies that have a learning platform tend to improve the motivation levels of their people. For example, a recent survey in Nigeria indicates that 65% of the working class population felt indebted to companies that provided training platforms for them thereby influencing their decision to remain in the company. Thus, it is important to note that firms need to provide access to training platforms in order to motivate their staff. In summary, money is not the major reason why people stay longer in firms but passion and access to training opportunities. Therefore, it is important that organisations are intentional about increasing the motivation of their staff in order to reduce their attrition levels.