Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age, for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that increasing the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike is the most effective way to make an improvement in road safety. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea and my reasons are outlined below. On the one hand, increasing the minimum legal age for getting a license could bring several merits. Firstly, when people get older, they can make wiser decisions when facing dangerous situations on the road compared to young people. Secondly, raising the minimum rising age can allow young drivers more time to sharpen their driving skills. Young drivers could attend a defensive driving course to learn how to deal with different driving scenarios, which helps to minimize the risk of accidents. On the other hand, better road safety could be achieved by applying other methods. The first measure can be imposing stricter laws which could act as a deterrent to would-be offenders. If people are aware of the severe consequence of breaking the traffic law, they tend to not commit the same crime in the future. Another method could be allocating more budget for public transportation, which could encourage citizens to use less private transportation. By that way, these residents do not have to worry about accidents that they may face when driving their vehicles such as drunk driving, Overspeed, or even fall asleep at the wheel. In conclusion, while raising the legal driving age can make our roads safer to some extent, I believe that there are other solutions that are also benefits such as introducing stringent traffic regulation and investing more money in traffic infrastructure.