Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Cultures in different parts of the world have become much more similar nowadays when compared to the past. This trend is probably caused by globalisation and the advanced technologies like the internet. Despite being able to know more about each other, it can be a negative development for cultural diversity. The main reasons for similar modern culture are that globalisation and technology improvements make people have more chances to know about other cultures. It is much easier for people to travel overseas. When visiting abroad, they have a chance to explore other countries and know more about each other. Not to mention, if they have the internet, they could communicate with others living in another country without literally visiting it. For example, there are many social platforms for people to learn about the cultures and lifestyles abroad. As a result, it is for these reasons that modern cultures have become more similar than ever before. Although similar cultures could improve understanding and reduce discrimination, it is might be negative for cultural diversity. Various cultures are likely to create more innovations and boost creations. Furthermore, it is a good experience of learning about new cultures. For instance, a recent survey reveals that half of the interviewed people have the interest to explore local culture when they are travelling in another country. Therefore, this trend of similar cultures around the world is negative. In conclusion, people tend to share a similar culture these days. The main reasons for this trend are globalisation and technology improvement. Even though people have been more familiar with each other, it is negative for people to have a more diverse culture.