Many famous sports players advertise products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Merchandising of products is extremely common among sportsman stars. In this essay,I will discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of this growing new pattern of advertisement. First and foremost, the huge advantage of a well-known sports player as an advertiser for a brand is the high level of confidence and reliability promoted by this person. Further, the number of people who would be reached by a renowned person is astronomically higher compared with a normal face. Among the footballers, for example, we can observe names like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar had drastically transformed the sports advertisement industry when they had become more than football players but, also, ambassadors of a product. As a consequence, athletes have become one of the most important categories in the commercial market. Moreover, it is not unusual that they promote a product despite its quality, only based on the amount of money that they will earn. For instance, Ronaldinho, who used to be one of the top footballers in Brazil, has suffered a tremendous decline in his playing career since he became a money machine for commercial industries. To summarize, there is a tenuous threshold between becoming a real and meaningful sports influencer or a superstar who uses fame to promote the reinless market of consumption. In conclusion, the usage of famous athletes to divulge a product is a smart and well profitable marketing manoeuvre for the companies as for sports players, but possess some relevant drawbacks like the possibility to deviate from the professional sports market and become more like an influencer.