It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports and music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Talent has been an increasingly popular discussion in recent times. Many argued that one can be great at a particular area from birth whilst others are of the opinion that talent can be learnt. This essay will support the notion that abilities can be built up with consistent practice and dedication over a given period of time. Some believe that human beings are may superior knowledge in an area of expertise from birth. This may be true in some cases whereby a child seems to be good at a particular field whilst growing up and tend to perform well in such area. For example, back in primary school, I had a classmate that was very good at singing despite not having anyone to train him as a singer, however, he later grew up and chose to be a doctor has his singing skills were not developed. Without consistent practice, he found it difficult to cope with his peers in the music industry. In other words, there is a limit to one's growth if there is no follow-up training. In the modern world, there are far more cases of people without prior knowledge of a subject developing themselves to be great thought leaders in such areas and excelling well at it. There is nothing compared to consistently building your abilities and becoming better and better at it. For instance, many athletes in Nigeria were trained from a young age to become highly skilled in football and this helped them to be able to compete internationally. Furthermore, skills without rigorous practice may be soon forgotten. It is therefore important to ensure deliberate efforts are put in place to build expertise. In summary, people can be good in a particular course without being born with talent. I support that one can be an expert in any given field through dedication and commitment in training. Consequently, it is important to continually improve in an area by rigorously devoting time to such course.