In many countries, traditions and customs are disappearing. What are the reasons? What should schools and parents do to keeping our traditions alive?

In the modern world, local heritages are struggling to sustain. Throughout this essay, I will discuss two main reasons for the above issue and point out the ways that families and schools can protect these values. To begin with, modernization is one of the major factors that causes traditions to vanish. Young adults sometimes believe that those rituals are outdated and by doing these norms would make their social status low. For example, milking a cow is a respected tradition in India but present Indians have opposed views and often do not follow that. Moreover, another reason for the disappearance of these traditions is i nability to pass those values from generation to another generation properly. This is the key to the survival of these traditions. For example, proposed marriages was a common custom in Sri Lanka but not anymore as it wasn't passed onto the next generation correctly. However, there are some ways that can protect these rituals. Firstly, parents should clearly educate their children about their cultural heritages and pass those values to the youngsters properly. Secondly, schools should encourage students to appreciate and empower their customs by organizing various events such as traditional uniform days or diversity festival days. For example, a study done in Europe found out that teaching traditions to children correctly and by having activities to enhance cultures in schools can help to sustain the diverse traditions. To sum up, it can be difficult to prevent some traditions from extinct but parents can stop that by teaching those traditions to teenagers correctly and schools can empower those traditions by organizing various events.