Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities.

Nurses play one of the most important roles in the world. In spite of their needs for covering many different subjects to take care of individuals, some think that they should have a very good command of medicine while others believe that some other skills are more relevant. I believe that both technical knowledge and qualities have the same importance. Technical knowledge is a must for nurses to be able to take care of people. When people need to receive medical care, the first professional they will see is probably a registered nurse. These professionals need to have all the necessary knowledge to understand what is the best treatment for a patient. This led me to support the idea that a good medical command is one of the main factors that a nurse must-have. If you go to an emergency room in need of prompt care you want the nurses that can manage your medical problem correctly, this is only possible if they have technical comprehension. In addition, besides knowing technically their work, nurses also need other skills to do their best. Social skills like communication, teamwork, and empathy are very important to help nurses understand people’ needs beyond the technical examination. Some patients need just to feel welcomed to find the motivation to help them in their recovery. These abilities to look behind the laboratory results and also focus on the patient’ mental health during treatments, give nurses major importance in people’s care. This makes the needs of nursing knowledge go further than only technical. To conclude, good medical comprehension is as important as other qualities. Technically, nurses use their knowledge to manage medical problems in patients but also other qualities are key factors to help recover people’s health.