In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations?

In recent years, with the advance of medicine, people can live longer than before. However, although this is a huge achievement for human beings, it may affect other individuals’ lives profoundly. In this essay, I will discuss some problems that this increased life expectancy might bring, and suggest ways to tackle it. To begin with, the longer people live, the ore healthcare is needed to help them be alive. These health services, provided in many countries by governments, can be expensive and cause several economic problems. For instance, the taxes may need to be increased to help balance the expenses with medical care for seniors. As a result, the citizens would need to pay more fees and suffer discounts in their wage to help the system. To solve this issue, politicians will need to invest in education to have more prepared doctors and nurses, and also improve the public healthcare system with technology and supplies. Another problem that should be mentioned is the retirement system, as it can also affect the economy and people’s lives. For instance, the government of Brazil had to change its retirement rules because of the number of retirees it has gained in the last few years. As a result, some young people in the workforce may pay for this, with discounts in their wage, without even having the assurance that they will also be able to receive a retirement salary years ahead. To resolve this issue, people should start to invest in private pensions without expecting the government to help them in the future, as it may not be possible. In conclusion, the medicine breakthrough in life expectancy is a tremendous advance for everyone. Meanwhile, the governments will need to improve their health and retirement system, otherwise, it may collapse and bring several economic problems all around the world.