Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Owning a car can certainly improve life quality from many perspectives, whereas the negative effects it generates are also palpable. This essay will explain why car ownership is a de facto double-edged sword. On one hand, vehicles can make life much easier in various ways. First, they make long-distance trips and commutes possible, especially in regions where public transport is underdeveloped. To illustrate, the USA tops the list of automobiles per capita largely due to its inadequate underground and railway networks, which makes grocery shopping, travelling, and daily commute painful for Americans; however, a car can eliminate all these problems almost instantly. Moreover, for families with kids, disabled members, and people in their dotage, other transportation alternatives would be highly undoable, hence highlighting the importance of car ownership. On the other hand, four-wheel vehicles are not entirely laudable for three major reasons: environmental impacts, higher cost, and more risks. It was only recently that the world realised the inimical effect that cars had on the environment—climate change in particular. According to scientific studies, automobiles emit more carbon dioxide than all other transportation combined. The second issue is that, although buying a car can be cheap enough, the cost of fuel and insurance may be too burdensome for most households. An appalling case is that some people even started making gasoline at home to fight off high gas prices. Finally, car crashes could be utterly deadly. For example, US vehicle deaths rose by almost 8% from 2020 to 2023 because more cars were sold. To sum up, cars can indeed enhance living conditions and boost productivity; however, the harmful influence they are able to impose on individuals and society should also be taken into serious consideration.