Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that there is no sense to learn about the past and there is a necessity to concentrate only on the resent. From my point of view, it is undoubtedly significant to evaluate past and underestimate the influence of history. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the importance of the past. First of all, the most important reason is to avoid making the same mistake twice. Consequently, it is important to learn about the past. For instance, if a country offended another country and caused conflicts by speaking or acting in a certain way, it would happen again if no one learned from it. Moreover, this may lead to war between two countries, thus learning from the past mistakes can definitely prevent the repetition of history. On the other hand, learning from the past will teach people about the origins of their nation and culture and a person will understand where he comes from and will value his roots. Hence, each country has their own histories, and all of them proud of their histories. Through studying about events from the past, we can see clearly what our ancestors did to build and protect our countries. As a result, historical lessons give us pride about our countries, and they motivate us to contribute to the development of countries. In conclusion, although some people think that studying about the past has no value, I support the opinion that we should learn about the past because history makes us proud of our countries and teaches us to prevent mistakes.