Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that there is no sense for high school students to be learned literature for instance poems or novels. In my point of view, it mainly depends on the sphere about which a student is going to study in the future, however, I personally think that it is important to learn the basics of the literature in order to be generally clever. To begin with, the literature is a significant subject for the students. First of all, various books, novels and poems are important because of their plot and educational factors. Hence, reading these books students may get valuable knowledge and interesting facts about an individual book. For example, when I was in the high school I read a historical book, which had a huge influence on me, though it was quite long and demanded a great amount of time, nevertheless, I found it motivational and thrilling. On the other hand, some people may find it a waste of time and suggest not to teach this subject at the high school, because those who are under the burden of the high school program may not manage to soak up the knowledge. However, for those who continue their study with a sphere where literature is not necessary their literature program can be reduced and be taught only basics, as literature gives valuable knowledge to everyone. Having said that, literature teaches about each nations art, culture and history which are paramount for everyone to know. To sum up, I want to mention that literature and books are of significant importance and this subject should undoubtedly be taught for high school students, although the teaching program and curriculum should be reduced and there is a necessity to teach only basics for those whom literature is not necessary for a career.